My Mom and “The Moms of my Friends”-May 3


One thing I have learned is that good friends have other good friends. This is a series of stories about “friends of my friends”.

The post below is the story for May 3, 2015. My goal in 2015 is to learn or get re-acquainted with 365 people and doing a daily post on the “the friend of a friend” is helping me get closer to my goal. On May 10th I am going to repost this with a different angle. I am going to post on “My Mom and The Moms of My Friends”.

Patricia Kenney is my mom.

Next Sunday is Mother’s Day and I am going to take different approach and only write the first part of the post which you will see below. I want to learn about all the wonderful moms my friends have so I will give them a chance to contribute to the second part. So I am actually encouraging each of you to be part of this post that will appear on Mother’s Day. I am going to tell you about my mom and hope you would consider letting me share a story on the “Moms of my Friends” for the second half.  Then we can all share it with each other.

If possible I ask you to keep it brief 100 to 150 words. Just go to the comments section at the very bottom and post your reply. I will add them and repost the entire thing next Sunday. I want to learn about your mom.

My Mom-Patricia Lynch Kenney

My mom was born in 1926 and passed away in 2012 at the age of 85. She was a nurse, a wife for 39 years, and a loving mother to six children. She was a grandmother to another 14. I am the oldest child and have two brothers and three sisters.

My mom’s name was Patricia Lynch Kenney and she was the youngest of six siblings from the Lynch family. She grew up in Far Hills, NJ and went to school in Bernardsville, NJ. There are a lot of wonderful things about my mom that I could share but I am going to focus on four.

One; she was a woman of tremendous spiritual conviction and was a devout Roman Catholic. My mom went to her grave disappointed that none of her sons became a priest.

Two; my mom was fiercely proud of her Irish heritage and culture. Going to New York City for the St. Patrick’s Day parade, listening to Irish music, and when the Jameson’s or Irish Sherry kicked in she could be found doing an Irish Jig. Anything related to Ireland became happy moments for my mom and her four sisters.

Third; she had three special days in the month of May. She was born in May, she was married in May, and she loved the Kentucky Derby. It just so happens she was married on May 3, 1952 which was the day of the 78th running of the Kentucky Derby. That year the race was won by Hill Gail. Photo below: Hill Gail

Horse racing was important to my mom because her dad Henry Lynch was the greatest show horse jockey in Ireland in the early part of the 1900’s. His ability as a jockey allowed him to come to America to ride horses. Once he was in the US he met my grandmother Bridget Bambrick and they lived in Far Hills and Peapack, NJ.

Fourth; my mom was a saint. My youngest sister was born with Downs Syndrome and as an infant contracted rheumatic fever and became deaf. My dad died in 1991 and my mom was the primary caregiver to my sister Mary up until my mom passing away in 2012. There has never been a mom with a more loving heart than Patricia Lynch Kenney.

My Mom-Patricia Lynch Kenney

(l-r) Patricia Kenney, My brother Tom, and dad Francis D. Kenney-circa 1966 Mom Dad with TK

The Moms of my Friends- Stories below

Rita Murray from Brian Murray

Rita Murray sitting down in red sweater at a bridal shower

Mama Rita

Great idea Dan, Well my mom, Rita Morrison Murray and Pat Lynch Kenney were dear friends. They lived next door to each other and raised their families together. Both were Irish, devout Catholics and both had a love of horses. My mom’s dad was not a famous jockey but he was a blacksmith in Morristown were my mom was born. Both sets of her Grandparents moved to Morristown from Ireland. My mom is 97 and still with us. She lives on her own in the house I grew up in. While Dan is the oldest in his family I am the youngest. I have two brothers and a sister. My oldest brother is a priest and my mom knew he would be from the time he was in the womb but she never shared that with him until after he was ordained. The rest of us did pretty well although those who know me growing up could argue the point about me. Mom has sixteen grandchildren and seven great grandchildren. My mom knew how to live though difficulties and challenges, she learned to swim and drive car when she was in her 40’s but she also managed to keep our family going on a very tight budget. She is compassionate. I remember her having many a “cup of tea” with a friend who was going through a difficulty. They came to her for wisdom and support. Now at 97 many of her dear friends have passed on but rather then become lonely she simply acquires new (and younger) friends. Happy Mothers Day Mom, we love you! Brian Murray

Ruth Read from Carey Read

Photo of Ruth dancing with husband Finley

Ruth Read

My mom grew up on the farm a middle child with all that comes with that. She is very independent and strong willed. She is also saint; along with my Dad spending their advancing years caring for the needs of those less fortunate than themselves. She doesn’t talk about it. She just does it because she knows that God has instructed her to do so. She raised her kids in a strict, disciplined manner and I love her for it. She was a master English teacher. A task master that wasn’t always appreciated during high school, but the endless stream of college freshmen that came to our door to thank her speaks volumes to how well she did her job. She is 81 and as feisty as ever.

Rosalia Terranova from Giuseppe “Joe” Terranova

Photo of Joe and his wife Beth

Joe and Beth

My mom’s name was Rosalia, she was the oldest daughter of 3. at early age (about 9) she lost her mom and took on the role of a mom early, by taking care of her brother (Giuseppe) and her little sister (Nancy). She was one strong woman.

I grew up in Sicily, and my dad’s job as a railroad builder took him to work out of town 5 days out of 7, so my mom was my father and mother at the same time. I was 4th out of 5 siblings, I was the youngest for six years and then along came my younger brother. Below is what made Rosalia Terranova special to me.
1. I loved her espresso, she would be at 5AM every day, and sometimes smoked a cigarette (even when she was pregnant).
2. She insisted that we were well mannered and dressed, she loved to get dressed up.
3. My mom loved to cook and make fresh bread in our brick oven, every Sunday we would have 10 to 15 people gather at my house (in Sicily) to drink and eat.
4. I was her favorite son, she never advertised it, but my brothers and sister knew it too well..

She passed away a the early age of 44, I miss that she is not here to see what her sons and daughter  have accomplished here in the USA.

5 comments

  1. Brian · · Reply

    Great idea Dan, Well my mom, Rita Morrison Murray and Pat Lynch Kenney were dear friends. They lived next door to each other and raised their families together. Both were Irish, devout Catholics and both had a love of horses. My mom’s dad was not a famous jockey but he was a blacksmith in Morristown were my mom was born. Both sets of her Grandparents moved to Morristown from Ireland. My mom is 97 and still with us. She lives on her own in the house I grew up in. While Dan is the oldest in his family I am the youngest. I have two brothers and a sister. My oldest brother is a priest and my mom knew he would be from the time he was in the womb but she never shared that with him until after he was ordained. The rest of us did pretty well although those who know me growing up could argue the point about me. Mom has sixteen grandchildren and seven great grandchildren. My mom knew how to live though difficulties and challenges, she learned to swim and drive car when she was in her 40’s but she also managed to keep our family going on a very tight budget. She is compassionate. I remember her having many a “cup of tea” with a friend who was going through a difficulty. They came to her for wisdom and support. Now at 97 many of her dear friends have passed on but rather then become lonely she simply acquires new (and younger) friends. Happy Mothers Day Mom, we love you! Brian Murray

  2. Joe Terranova · · Reply

    The mom of Giuseppe “Joe” Terranova
    Her name was Rosalia, she was the oldest daughter of 3. at early age (about 9) she lost her mom and took the mom role model at early age, by taking care of her brother (Giuseppe) and her little sister (Nancy). She was one strong woman.

    Growing up in Sicily, my dad’s job as a railroad builder took him to work out of town 5 days out of 7, so my mom was our dad and mom at the same time. I was 4 out of 5 siblings, I was the youngest until my younger brother arrived 6 years later. here are somethings about my mom.
    1. Loved her espresso, she would be at 5AM every day, and sometimes smoked a cigarette (even when she was pregnant).
    2. Always made sure we were well mannered and dressed, she loved to get dressed up.
    3. Loved to cook and make fresh bread in our brick oven, every Sunday we would have 10 to 15 people gather at my house (in Sicily) to drink and eat.
    4. I was her favorite son, she never advertised it, but my brothers and sister knew it too well..

    She passed at early age of 44, I miss that she is not here to see what me and my brothers and sister have accomplished here in the USA.

  3. Carey Read · · Reply

    My mom grew up on the farm a middle child with all that comes with that. She is very independent and strong willed. She is also saint; along with my Dad spending their advancing years caring for the needs of those less fortunate than themselves. She doesn’t talk about it. She just does it because she knows that God has instructed her to do so. She raised her kids in a strict, disciplined manner and I love her for it. She was a master English teacher. A task master that wasn’t always appreciated during high school, but the endless stream of college freshmen that came to our door to thank her speaks volumes to how well she did her job. She is 81 and as feisty as ever.

    1. Can’t wait to include in Sunday’s post-Thanks

  4. Becca Kenney · · Reply

    My mom, Mira Kenney, is an amazing woman, as you all know. She is the mother of five wonderful children, 4 boys and 1 girl (Me). My mom has played many roles in my life: mother, disciplinarian, friend, role model, coach, cheerleader, and supporter. I am not quite sure how she put up with all of us children. I know there have been times we made her want to pull her hair out.

    As many of you know Dad coached college basketball. So a lot of times Mom had to do everything on her own. Running us all to and from school, games, practices, and any other extra curricular events. Cook dinner. Laundry ( which we were taught at a young age to do on our own). Clean house. You know all the “mom” duties. On top of that she made sure we were at all the home basketball games. Was my dad’s biggest cheerleader, and a mom to all of his players.

    Mira is an amazing woman who I look up to very much. She has been there to support and guide me through the rough times, and cheered me on during my best. She is always thinking and doing for others! If there are not enough minutes in a day to get it all done, she finds a way to squeeze it all in.

    As I have gotten older and grown into my own, I have seen my mother grow as well. Maybe I have a different perspective of her now too. I can say that God has truly blessed me and my brothers with an amazing mother. One whom we can share laughter and tears with, one whom will always listen, one whom is always looking for ways to help out when we need her, one whom prays for us daily. A mother who leads by example, and shares her love for Christ by her actions and words.

    Mom, I hope one day to be half the woman you are. I also hope to one day be a mother who is as loving and caring as you are. Thank you for always being my compass when I am lost, my encouragement when I am down, my rock when I am weak, but most of all thank you for being my mother! You have blessed me with your unconditional love. Thank you for being my best friend. I love you and hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day.

Leave a Reply

Jesse Kerema

Motivation, goals and a journey to success

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

MC2Charlotte

Motivating Children To Change

Order My Steps

Musings and reflections along the path

This Day in North Carolina History

The people and places of the Tar Heel state day by day.

The Omnivoyeur

Eating, Drinking, and Taking In All Of Life's Pleasures

BitesnBuzz

People, Places, Bites & Buzz from the South and Beyond

John Tanner's Barbecue Blog

One man's search for a rich, full life -- mainly barbecue.

AdventureDawgs

Seeing the world one road at a time

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

FOOD, FASHION AND DESIGN

AMY TURNER SMITH

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

SpanishMossSeries

Faces, places, food, football and other southern goodness that strikes me.

Sunnyhuckle

Positive stories, insights, ideas, inspirations, thoughts, & perspectives

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Art's Arts

I Like Art.

