A friend of a friend-Julie Domecq and Greg Domecq-May 4


One thing I have learned is that good friends have other good friends. This is a series of stories about “friends of my friends”. The post below is the story for May 4, 2015.

My goal in 2015 is to learn or get re-acquainted with 365 people and doing a daily post on the “the friend of a friend” is helping me get closer to my goal.

On Friday I had a great conversation with Dr. Greg Domecq who is a dynamic leader in public education and happens to be a former assistant basketball coach at Winthrop University (SC). Greg was at Winthrop the entire time I served as head basketball coach from 1992-1998. Today Greg serves as the Associate Principal at Western Albemarle High School just outside of Charlottesville, VA.

As Greg and I caught up he shared with me that for a leadership workshop he committed to do a 52 week blog during the 2013/14 academic year. He finished it up last July and I complimented him the quality of his posts. I encourage you take a peek at it.

https://drgregdomecq.wordpress.com/

Some of Greg’s work in education involves taking his expertise and sharing with others. In 2014 Greg and a team of teachers from Western Albemarle HS presented to over ninety school personnel from throughout Virginia in conjunction with the University of Virginia School of Continuing and Professional Studies on the topic of “Improving Collaborative Teaching at the High School Level.”

I have no doubt that those 90 teachers learned a lot from Greg because during the six years that we were together he taught me a lot. I was not surprised that after college coaching he went on and pursued his terminal degree. Greg has always been a scholar and outstanding communicator. I am glad that he is making a big difference in the lives of students at Western Albemarle HS.

Greg never approached any task as a coach halfway he was always “all in”. In fact he is one of those leaders that keeps all of his promises and finds a way to deliver more than what he promised. I thought of myself as organized when I arrived at Winthrop but Greg had techniques and tactics he showed me that were cutting edge. We were both disciples of the Franklin Covey Planning system that guided our professional and personal goals. I still utilize techniques Greg showed me to this day.

http://www.franklincovey.com/tc/

Greg is a leader who always was trying to motivate or accomplish a task with some out of the box thinking. One idea he talked me into was doing a rap routine in front of our Winthrop basketball team. He was persuasive but a terrible evaluator of what I could pull off musically. His ability to recruit a wife was much more successful than making me into a rapper. In fact he out punted his coverage when he married his wife who is smart, beautiful, compassionate, and funny.

Greg Domecq has been married for twenty-three years to the former Julie Campbell of Trenton, New Jersey. Julie was an exceptional swimmer and is still today a beautiful women.

They have two daughters, Christine (age 20) who is a 2013 Honor Graduate of Western Albemarle and a member of the 2014 Lynchburg College NCAA Division III National Championship Women’s Soccer Team, and Catherine (age 11), as well as a son, Derek (age 15). Derek as a freshman has been a standout on the Western Albemarle football and baseball teams. I have a hunch that is three years Derek will be a standout college athlete also.

The Friend –Greg Domecq

Greg Domecq

The Friend of the Friend-Julie Domecq

Julie Domecq

A Jewel of a Wife

In catching up with Greg he spoke about his wife Julie. Today she works in the home heath care industry but at her core she is a nurse. Nurses are special people. I know Greg feels that way about his wife. My mom was a nurse and my mom and Julie shared that common core of they serve others.

Greg also told me that one of the hardest things he has had to do was read a blog entry that his wife wrote called “A Jewel of a Wife”. That post was Julie talking about Greg. I have provided a link to that post below. In reading that post I believe Julie described Greg’s qualities to a t.

https://drgregdomecq.wordpress.com/2014/07/21/a-jewel-of-a-wife-julies-entry/

Julie is one of the special women who was destined to be a mom. She also is a women who completely supports her husband. Being the wife of college coach is not easy. Being a working mom with three children is not easy. Being the wife of someone pursuing a Doctoral Degree is not easy.

Greg Domecq is lucky because of Julie. The Kenney Family is lucky to have Greg and Julie Domecq part of our lives.

Leave a Reply

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

MC2Charlotte

Motivating Children To Change

Order My Steps

Musings and reflections along the path

This Day in North Carolina History

The people and places of the Tar Heel state day by day.

Lone Star Back Roads

Exploring Texas (and other parts of the Southern Confederacy)

The Omnivoyeur

Eating, Drinking, and Taking In All Of Life's Pleasures

BitesnBuzz

People, Places, Bites & Buzz from the South and Beyond

John Tanner's Barbecue Blog

One man's search for a rich, full life -- mainly barbecue.

AdventureDawgs

Seeing the world one road at a time

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

FOOD, FASHION AND DESIGN

AMY TURNER SMITH

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

SpanishMossSeries

Faces, places, food, football and other southern goodness that strikes me.

Sunnyhuckle

Positive stories, insights, ideas, inspirations, thoughts, & perspectives

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Art's Arts

I Like Art.

