A friend of a friend-Josie Schur-Patrick Kenney-May 26


One thing I have learned is that good friends have other good friends. This is a series of stories about “friends of my friends”. The post below is the story for May 26, 2015.

My goal in 2015 is to learn or get re-acquainted with 365 people and doing a daily post on the “the friend of a friend” is helping me get closer to my goal.

I am the oldest of six children. My sibling that is the next oldest to me is my brother Patrick. We are separated by less than 14 months. We were always in school together a year apart. We were in a lot of the same activities growing up including scouting, church, sports, assigned yard work, and school. My brother has a beautiful wife named Marcee who is a nurse. Together they have three grown children Meagan, Dottie, and Eric.

(l-r) Meagan Kenney, son-in-law Dave Schur, son Eric Kenney, and daughter Dottie Kenney Schur. On tricycle is Josie Schur.

Pat Kenney Family

When I graduated from college I went away to East Carolina University in Greenville, NC. My brother went to college in New Jersey a year later but lived at home. He earned his degree from FDU. With him being home over the next four to five years a shift in family responsibilities went from being shared to now all falling on his shoulders.

Patrick has always been responsible something that his wife, children, and my other brother and sisters will tell you. He just knows what needs to get done and without asking or any big fanfare gets it done. That is great quality for anyone but really important when you are from a large family like the Kenney’s.

My siblings:

back row (l-r) Tom Kenney, Patrick Kenney, and Dan Kenney

front row (l-r) Theresa Kenney Bramhall, Mary Francis Kenney, and Bridget Kenney Murphy

Kenney Family Blog

My brother lives in a home that was built in the 1800’s. You can see the responsibility trait in how beautiful and maintained he keeps that home. Our dad was like that and Patrick certainly honors our dad when you see how he maintains his home.  If you are from Morris County NJ the red farmhouse that sits on the corner of Schooley’s Mt. Rd. & Flocktown Rd. is his. The landmark is an old tree carved into an eagle sitting at the corner on a grass island at the stop sign.

Pat House

My brother has been in the world of finance and banking since he was one year removed from high school. Over that 42 year time span there have been changes in banking he has experienced. One look at his career below tells you my brother has seen his share of mergers and acquisitions. Those changes usually mean people lose their positions due to downsizing. In coaching I would tell my friends and players; being a leader never goes out of style. Someone will want you if you are hard-working and responsible and that is my brother.

Today he serves as VP for Wells Fargo Bank and specializes in credit/trade financials. He has been in that position since 2007. Prior to working with Wells Fargo Patrick worked for Bank of New York, Wachovia, Standard Chartered Bank, Bank of America, PNC, and JP Morgan. That is a pretty impressive line-up of financial institutions. They all saw in my brother what I saw in him growing up. He is responsible. He is honest. He cares about others and he is a leader. People want those types of people on their team.

My brother at the present time amongst the Kenney siblings (Dan-Patrick-Bridget-Tom-Theresa-and Mary) is the only grandparent. There is no one that gets my brother’s attention more than his granddaughter Josie Schur.

The Friend-PATRICK KENNEY-shown with his wife Marcee

Pat and Marcee

The Friend of the Friend- JOSIE SCHUR

Josie Schur

When cute makes responsibility fun

When you are responsible person like my brother sometimes you have tasks or obligations that must feel like a chore or burden. The responsibility of being a grandparent to Josie Schur is not one of those by any measure. Josie is beyond cute and ever day my niece and Josie’s mom Dottie Kenney Schur posts a picture of Josie. It has been so much fun watching her grow up. The one thing that has not changed is the cute factor.

I am going to post some pictures that I think will give you the idea that sometimes responsibility is not a burden at all. It is a joy and my brother Patrick is having a bunch of it with Josie.

Picking Apples with Josie

Apples

Riding a bike (l-r) Marcee Kenney-Josie -Patrick Kenney

Josie Bike

One year old birthday

Josie 1 year old

You see responsibility has it joys-proud of my brother the grandfather.

Leave a Reply

Jesse Kerema

Motivation, goals and a journey to success

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

MC2Charlotte

Motivating Children To Change

Order My Steps

Musings and reflections along the path

This Day in North Carolina History

The people and places of the Tar Heel state day by day.

The Omnivoyeur

Eating, Drinking, and Taking In All Of Life's Pleasures

BitesnBuzz

People, Places, Bites & Buzz from the South and Beyond

John Tanner's Barbecue Blog

One man's search for a rich, full life -- mainly barbecue.

AdventureDawgs

Seeing the world one road at a time

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

FOOD, FASHION AND DESIGN

AMY TURNER SMITH

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

SpanishMossSeries

Faces, places, food, football and other southern goodness that strikes me.

Sunnyhuckle

Positive stories, insights, ideas, inspirations, thoughts, & perspectives

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Art's Arts

I Like Art.

