A friend of a friend-Coach4aday Readers-Genevieve Parker Hill-June 13


One thing I have learned is that good friends have other good friends. This is a series of stories about “friends of my friends”. The post below is the story for June 13, 2015.

My goal in 2015 is to learn or get re-acquainted with 365 people and doing a daily post on the “the friend of a friend” is helping me get closer to my goal.

When you have a blog eventually you get asked the question how did you get started. I started this blog in 2014 at the request of a friend who wanted me to send him some motivational or coaching related articles. He kept on me that I needed a blog so in December of 2013 I relented and “Googled” how to start a blog.

There were lots of links to websites and even other blogs on how to start a blog but it basically boiled down to the following steps:

  • What should I write about?
  • Find a platform
  • Pick out a domain name
  • Design the Blog
  • Write your first post
  • Promote if you want blog readership to grow

For me I started out with the intent to only have posts that were related to coaching or motivation. That all would change when I would be led to read some blogging tips from a friend of mine Genevieve Parker Hill. Genna has been married since 2012 to a fascinating man named Thomas Hill who she calls “Prince Charming”.

genna and thomas

Her marriage to Thomas has resulted in her living in Ramallah a major city on the west bank of Palestine. In 2014 she and her husband moved back to the USA and became parents to a son that they affectionately refer to as “Bump”.

She is a great writer and has a blog called “Packing Lust”. She has been the recipient of some Reader Choice Awards.

http://www.packinglust.com/

Excerpt from her blog is below

PackingLust.com started as a place for me to write down the adventures Prince Charming and I had traveling and living in the developing country of Palestine. When I met Prince Charming, I was an aspiring screenwriter living in Los Angeles, California. I had to find a way to stay motivated to keep writing even though I was planning to leave Hollywood and my circle of screenwriting friends.

The blog gets its name from what you need to bring along for the ride if you’re going to thrive while living in a different culture: wanderlust, lust for adventure, and even lust for challenges. It’s also a play on “packing list.” I’m a list-lover, and thought it would be great if I could provide some packing advice here.

Genna has a great family and I consider it a privilege to be friends with her mom Maria and dad Jim. She has a sister and two brothers who are all extremely talented leaders.

If it wasn’t for Genna tip on the importance of a blog having daily posts I know that a great part of my life today would not be a reality. I have people who I don’t really know telling me thank you for posts that I write. Those people are readers or viewers of my blog. Thanks to Genna I have a lot of Coach4aday friends.

The Friend -GENEVIEVE PARKER HILL

Hill Family

The Friend of a Friend-Coach4aday BLOG READERS

Blog

Post Views

Genevieve back in 2013 had a blog called Fairy Tale Life Coaching in where she offered up some tips for blogging. She no longer has that blog active. One of her tips in that post included the strong suggestion to have “daily posts”. What!!!!!!!!!!!! That is exactly what I was saying when I read that. How was I going to come up with a daily post on my blog Coach4aday that would  feature coaching or leadership? I didn’t have the material for a daily post on that topic so I inserted my half-hearted 2014 New Year’s resolution to “Drink a Different Beer” each day that year.

What came out of from that decision were a lot of unintended consequences including the following.

  • I did in fact drink a different beer each day.
  • I did do a daily post on each of those unique beers. Those beer posts were mini-reviews of each beer.
  • I came to the conclusion that I did not want to write about food or drink on a daily basis again.

For the record my 2014 “Beer of the Day” list is at the link below:

https://coach4aday.wordpress.com/2014/12/30/dec-30-2014-completed-beer-of-the-day-list/

So for 2015 I turned my focus on doing a daily post on the “Friend of a Friend”. That has resulted in viewership and followers of the blog exceeding my wildest imagination. For instance in all of 2014 after nearly 400 post I barely had 2000 people read my blog. That averaged out to barely five people per post. I have to admit that I was actually very happy that on average there were five people a day reading what I had to say.

When I changed the focus of the daily posts to focusing on “A friend of a friend” the viewership took off. I also get to reflect on one of the most important possessions I have which is the wonderful people I know and consider friends.

To date in 2015 over 25,000 viewers have come to the website to read about those friends and their friends. That comes to average of about a 150 people each day. Most of these people I don’t know so I want to use this post to say THANKS.

I hope that I can continue to follow Genevieve’s tip of having a daily post.

 

Leave a Reply

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

MC2Charlotte

Motivating Children To Change

Order My Steps

Musings and reflections along the path

This Day in North Carolina History

The people and places of the Tar Heel state day by day.

Lone Star Back Roads

Exploring Texas (and other parts of the Southern Confederacy)

The Omnivoyeur

Eating, Drinking, and Taking In All Of Life's Pleasures

BitesnBuzz

People, Places, Bites & Buzz from the South and Beyond

John Tanner's Barbecue Blog

One man's search for a rich, full life -- mainly barbecue.

AdventureDawgs

Seeing the world one road at a time

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

FOOD, FASHION AND DESIGN

AMY TURNER SMITH

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

SpanishMossSeries

Faces, places, food, football and other southern goodness that strikes me.

Sunnyhuckle

Positive stories, insights, ideas, inspirations, thoughts, & perspectives

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Art's Arts

I Like Art.

