A friend of a friend-Candace King – Elliott Williamson-July 15


One thing I have learned is that good friends have other good friends. This is a series of stories about “friends of my friends”. The post below is the story for July 15, 2015.

My goal in 2015 is to learn or get re-acquainted with 365 people and doing a daily post on the “the friend of a friend” is helping me get closer to my goal.

I often use the phrase every day is a gift. I have a lot of friends that really do make the most out of each day and truly have an appreciation for the gift that each day brings to each of us. One of those people is Elliott Williamson who is a business owner in Lumberton, NC.

Elliott has done a number of different things in his career and comes from a family with strong ties to the Lumberton, NC community. He has been in the car business being a co-owner of Williamson Mazda before he purchased Century 21 in Lumberton, NC from now North Carolina State Senator Jane Smith.

century 21

Elliott has a lot of passions in life including his wife Caroline, his beautiful daughter Lizzie, and tennis. As I watched parts of the Wimbledon Tennis over the weekend my thoughts turned to Elliott who might be the biggest tennis fanatic I know. He doesn’t fully appreciate a day unless he can get out on the tennis court and play.

Elliott is also a good leader and realizes that attention to detail and keeping up with trends is important to customers and his real estate business. He has a team of very loyal and productive agents.

Elliott and his wife Caroline are very much into service and they both give back to our community in many different ways. Caroline has served on the Board of Trustees at UNC Pembroke for the past four years. Elliott and Caroline are regular supporters of a number of great causes in Lumberton including Southeastern Health.

Elliott also knows that life is not all about work. As I mentioned above he realizes the importance of exercise and tennis gives him that outlet. He cherishes his time with his wife and daughter Lizzie at the beach.

Photo below of Elliott and Caroline at beach May 2015 with daughter Lizzie back row left.

Caroline Beach

Elliott and daughter Lizzie

Elliott and Lizzie

Elliott has balance in his life from a good combination of family, exercise, friends, and service to others. That formula lets him deal with the day to day stresses all of us face especially small business owners.

Elliott has a sister Caroline Williamson King that is a dermatologist.

The Friend-ELLIOTT WILLIAMSON

Elliott Williamson

The Friend-CANDACE WILLIAMSON KING

candace king

 

The Hugging Doctor

When you get to be over the age of 50 and have fair skin a dermatologist becomes a new person in your life. When you have fair skin and had a few bad sunburns in your youth those events seem to come back after you turn fifty looking to get their due. That was the case for me as a approached 60 as I started to have things burned or cut off my skin.

I had people in Lumberton rave about how wonderful and highly competent a dermatologist by the name of Candace Williamson King was. In 2011 we hired a new provost at UNC Pembroke who lived in South Carolina and he raved about her. I also heard that she didn’t take new patients. On top of that she practiced in Pinehurst which is about 45 miles away from my home in Lumberton, NC. Factoring all that in I never thought to contact her that was about to change several years later.

My wife needed to see a dermatologist and because she works at Century 21 she was able to get an appointment thru Elliott and Caroline Williamson. After about three years of her being a patient and bragging on Candace I knew I was missing out. I had a nasty spot come up on my hand and my wife took matters into her own hand and pleaded my case to Candace and she said yes to me being a new patient.

I have had my share of doctors that I have really liked. I have had doctors that are funny, intelligent and caring. I was not prepared for what I met with Candace. She immediately walked into the examination room and I stuck out my hand to greet her and she immediately hugged me and said “I just love your wife”. I had just experienced my first every hug from a doctor.

I later found out that the hug was not a unique experience just for me because it seems all of her patients get a hug. She is without a doubt one of the most caring people you will ever encounter.

Candace is on medical leave and wasn’t present for my 6 month check-up. I really missed seeing her and as I overheard other patients in the waiting room talk about Dr. King not being there on Monday I realized I was not alone.

I hope that Candace knows all of us are sending her virtual hugs and want her to get well soon.

hug-1

Leave a Reply

Jesse Kerema

Motivation, goals and a journey to success

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

MC2Charlotte

Motivating Children To Change

Order My Steps

Musings and reflections along the path

This Day in North Carolina History

The people and places of the Tar Heel state day by day.

The Omnivoyeur

Eating, Drinking, and Taking In All Of Life's Pleasures

BitesnBuzz

People, Places, Bites & Buzz from the South and Beyond

John Tanner's Barbecue Blog

One man's search for a rich, full life -- mainly barbecue.

AdventureDawgs

Seeing the world one road at a time

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

FOOD, FASHION AND DESIGN

AMY TURNER SMITH

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

SpanishMossSeries

Faces, places, food, football and other southern goodness that strikes me.

Sunnyhuckle

Positive stories, insights, ideas, inspirations, thoughts, & perspectives

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Art's Arts

I Like Art.

