A friend of a friend-Vinny Murphy-Bridget Murphy-July 19


One thing I have learned is that good friends have other good friends. This is a series of stories about “friends of my friends”. The post below is the story for July 19, 2015.

My goal in 2015 is to learn or get re-acquainted with 365 people and doing a daily post on the “the friend of a friend” is helping me get closer to my goal.

I am the oldest of six siblings. My mom and dad had three sons and three daughters that were born in the span of ten years. The oldest three names are Dan, Patrick, and Bridget and we were born in the 2.5 years.

(l-r) Our Aunt Dot, Bridget Murphy, and Pat Kenney.

Bridget and Pat

We were often referred to as the Kenney Irish Triplets a reference to how many children Irish Catholic parents seemed to have in rapid succession. Today all six of us our spread out across the east coast living in Maine, New York, New Jersey, North Carolina, and Florida.

Kenney Family Brothers and Sisters

My sister Bridget’s birthday is today July 19 and she turns 60 years old. I won’t be there to celebrate but hope she has a great day. She is married to a wonderful man named Vinny Murphy. Vinny family consisted of an Italian mother and Irish father. His physical appearance is very Italian. Together Vinny and Bridget have two very talented daughters named Christina and Deidre.

(l-r) Bridget, Christina, and Dee Murphy

Bridget and daughters

Christina is working on an advanced college degree and Deidre works as a curator at the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas which is located in New Orleans, LA. Christina went to school at the University of Miami and Dee attended Rollins College.

Bridget as a mom has given her daughters a lot of unique experiences. Vinny is retired from Phillip Morris but his professional positions with the company were always very international in nature. Early in his career he was transferred to Hong Kong before it was turned over to the Chinese Government. In Hong Kong my sister Bridget learned to be an American mom in a foreign country. She did a great job of keeping her family connected to their native soil.

Bridget has always been the person in our family that looked out for the welfare of everyone in the family. When we lost our dad in 1991 my sister Bridget was always trying to get my mom involved in trips to visit whether it was in Florida or Connecticut. When my mom got sick in 2011 my sister Bridget went out of her way to provide extended care to my sister Mary who has Downs Syndrome. She flew her down to her home in Marco Island and let her be with them for over a month.

My sister is also the sibling that never forgets someone birthday or anniversary. I think she got that trait from my mom. So I am offering up a tribute to her with this blog post.

As a sister I hope she knows how much each of her siblings look up to her and love her. I hope she knows that all of her cousins and many nephews and nieces appreciate her many acts of kindness. As a sister-in-law I hope she knows how much everyone values the way she made people feel included and part of the family. As a woman of Irish descendant I hope she knows that people love the way she celebrated her heritage.

She has many friends but the one who has been by her side for a long time is her husband and friend Vinny Murphy.

The Friend-BRIDGET MURPHY shown with her cousin

Bridget

The Friend of the Friend –VINNY MURPHY-depicted in center of front row with five of his nephews and nieces.

Kenney's with Uncle Vinny

The Favorite Uncle

For my kids the times that they have been around their Uncle Vinny Murphy haven’t been enough but they all love him. They love him because he is funny tells good stories and often doesn’t act his age. He is always the life of the party and his nephews and nieces love him for it.

Vinny is also a loving husband that supports my sister. He is there by her side to help when she needs it. My hope for both of them today is they get to enjoy Bridget’s birthday. I have a special brother-in-law in Vinny because he married my special sister Bridget. Hope I get to see both of them soon.

Leave a Reply

Jesse Kerema

Motivation, goals and a journey to success

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

MC2Charlotte

Motivating Children To Change

Order My Steps

Musings and reflections along the path

This Day in North Carolina History

The people and places of the Tar Heel state day by day.

Lone Star Back Roads

Exploring Texas (and other parts of the Southern Confederacy)

The Omnivoyeur

Eating, Drinking, and Taking In All Of Life's Pleasures

BitesnBuzz

People, Places, Bites & Buzz from the South and Beyond

John Tanner's Barbecue Blog

One man's search for a rich, full life -- mainly barbecue.

AdventureDawgs

Seeing the world one road at a time

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

FOOD, FASHION AND DESIGN

AMY TURNER SMITH

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

SpanishMossSeries

Faces, places, food, football and other southern goodness that strikes me.

Sunnyhuckle

Positive stories, insights, ideas, inspirations, thoughts, & perspectives

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

