A friend of a friend-Pam McEvoy-Bob McEvoy-October 9


One thing I have learned is that good friends have other good friends. This is a series of stories about “friends of my friends”. The post below is the story for October 9, 2015.

My goal in 2015 is to learn or get re-acquainted with 365 people and doing a daily post on the “the friend of a friend” is helping me get closer to my goal.

In 1975 I realized just how small the world really was. I had just finished up my undergraduate degree at East Carolina University when the Head Basketball Coach at the time Dave Patton approached me with a great opportunity.

Photo below is from 1977 ECU Basketball season with Head Coach Dave Patton in dark blazer and Assistant Coach Billy Lee to his left.

Dave Patton

Dave Patton wanted to see if I would be interested in becoming a graduate assistant basketball coach for the ECU Pirates in 1975. He told me that his request for another full-time assistant coach had been turned down but he did have two GA’s. He wanted me to take one and I gladly accepted.

When I reported to the office during the start of school in the fall of 1975 I met the other Graduate Assistant Basketball Coach and his name was Bob McEvoy. Bob was at ECU working on a degree in counseling. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Kent State in 1973; where he lettered three seasons in basketball for the Golden Flashes. Bob was a very good player and served as team captain as a senior and was selected honorable mention All-Mid-American Conference.

In 1976 after Bob got his master’s degree he accepted head basketball coaching job at Douglas Byrd HS in Fayetteville, NC. At ECU the person that took his place was Billy Lee. In 1977 I received my master’s degree and accepted the assistant basketball coaching position at UNC Pembroke (then called Pembroke State). In 1978 Pembroke hired Billy Lee as its head coach and I remained his assistant coach for two seasons. In 1980 I left Pembroke to go to Western Carolina University and Bob took my place as Billy Lee’s Assistant Coach at Pembroke. In 1982 he left Pembroke to become the Head Coach at Mt. Olive College (now called University of Mount Olive) which was Billy Lee alma mater and his home town.

Bob went on to be a head basketball coach at Mt Olive and UNC Greensboro from 1982-1991. In 1992 after one year as head coach at Cape Fear HS he went to Methodist University as Head Coach. In 1998 the same year I went back to UNC Pembroke as Athletic Director Bob was promoted to Athletic Director at Methodist. In 1999 he gave up coaching basketball to just concentrate on being an Athletic Director. In 2014 Methodist promoted Bob to Vice–President.

Bob has had wonderful success as an Athletic Director. Under his stewardship, the Methodist Athletics Department has grown to 20 NCAA Division III varsity sports with over 600 student-athletes. The Monarchs have won 18 NCAA Division III National Championships, and in 2013-14 MU captured the USA South Athletic Conference Overall and Men’s President’s Cups for athletic excellence.

During my coaching athletic administrator career Bob and I have seen some interesting connections. The first connection involved his wife when I realized we shared the same high school and didn’t know each other.

Bob and his wife, Pam, have two children – Michael, a Methodist graduate, and Lindsey, a graduate of Meredith College in Raleigh, N.C.

The Friend-BOB MCEVOY

Bob McEvoy

The Friend of the Friend-PAM MCEVOY

Pam McEvoy

Small world

I grew up in Morristown NJ. I went to Morristown High School that included grades 9-12 with over 3,000 students in attendance during my time there. MHS was large and I graduated with a senior class of 750. I did not know everybody that went to my high school. In the summer of 1975 I was about to find that out.

As Bob McEvoy and I talked he told me he went to Kent State. We talked about the 1970 Kent State shootings and he was a student there along with his wife Pam. Over the next couple of weeks we talked and he made the connection that I was from NJ. He told me Pam his wife went to HS in NJ but was from Ohio. I asked what High School and he told me Morristown HS Class of 1969. I was the Class of 1971 and I was stunned. I never heard of Pam and I sure didn’t recognize her when we finally met.

After graduating from Morristown HS, she returned to her native Ohio to study broadcast journalism at Kent State University. At first, she had trouble getting into the classes she wanted, but after May 4, 1970, that didn’’t matter.

On that day, students staged an anti-war rally on campus. They were protesting the American invasion of Cambodia when the National Guard opened fire on the crowd, killing four students and wounding nine.

Life-Kent-Tragedy

“It was very traumatic for Pam , who was in class at the time of the shooting. She has mentioned that students went into PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder) but didn’’t know it. Pam was attending college at a time when college students wanted to make the world better. She choose communications.” Her decision led to a career in marketing and public relations.

She has held a number of positions over the years including working for non-profits, universities, and hospitals. In all those positions she garnered a reputation for being a caring and enthusiastic communicator.

Today she works as a marketing consultant for Proforma Palm Solutions. It truly is a small world Pam McEvoy and I found that out in 1975.

Leave a Reply

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

MC2Charlotte

Motivating Children To Change

Order My Steps

Musings and reflections along the path

This Day in North Carolina History

The people and places of the Tar Heel state day by day.

The Omnivoyeur

Eating, Drinking, and Taking In All Of Life's Pleasures

BitesnBuzz

People, Places, Bites & Buzz from the South and Beyond

John Tanner's Barbecue Blog

One man's search for a rich, full life -- mainly barbecue.

AdventureDawgs

Seeing the world one road at a time

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

FOOD, FASHION AND DESIGN

AMY TURNER SMITH

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

SpanishMossSeries

Faces, places, food, football and other southern goodness that strikes me.

Sunnyhuckle

Positive stories, insights, ideas, inspirations, thoughts, & perspectives

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Art's Arts

I Like Art.

