North Carolina-Nina Simone-February 23


North Carolina People, Places, and Things-February 23

I am the dad to five adult children. As they were growing up I attempted to remind them they were special and to implore them to learn something new. My goal was to do that daily.

In 2016 my goal is to learn something new daily on the people, places, and things that make North Carolina special.

I am always humbled when someone likes a blog post or comments. I enjoy when Danny Britt points out grammatical corrections I need to make. I enjoy likes I get from random strangers and the frequent likes from Joanna Massey.

http://johannamassey.com/

Yesterday’s post on Doc Watson drew a comment from a friend named James Bass that piqued my curiosity.

Photo of James below.

James Bass

James wrote me the following:

Enjoyed your blog on Doc Watson. I got to meet him when he played GPAC. I can’t remember the year, but he signed a CD jacket for me. Still have it too. Last week I watched a documentary about Nina Simone. In all my years, I’d never listened to her. Turns out, she was born in North Carolina. Neat to fine out.

My blog posts for 2016 are to learn something new about North Carolina so google here I come seeking knowledge about Nina Simone.

Nina Simone

First there is a documentary on Netflix called “What Happened Miss Simone” that has been nominated for an Oscar.  This film according to a Forbes review “takes a long, conscious look at the legendary singer, and does so in a way that will show audiences of all ages just how relevant and important she is today.”

The complete Forbes Review is below:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/hughmcintyre/2015/06/26/netflixs-nina-simone-documentary-is-an-incredible-look-at-one-of-historys-best-singers/#1a8a8397ccf8

Nina Simone was born Eunice Kathleen Waymon in Tryon, North Carolina on February 21st, 1933. Tryon for those geographical challenged is located in Polk County NC just above Spartanburg, SC.

Nina Simone received a scholarship to study classical piano at the Juilliard School in New York City, but left early when she ran out of money. She turned her interest to jazz, blues and folk music and released her first album in 1958. In the ‘60s, she became identified as the voice of the civil rights and wrote songs about the movement.

Nina moved to France in 1993 where she died in April 2003 after battling breast cancer.

James Bass I have added watching “What Happened Miss Simone” to my bucket list thanks for the feedback and post idea.

Link below is a film on her based on performance at Ronnie’s Scott Jazz Club in London from 1985

You can follow my blog by scrolling down and finding the follow button.

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. John Rancke · · Reply

    How about a story on Laurinburg Institute and their alumni including NBA players and Dizzy Gillespie

    On Tue, Feb 23, 2016 at 5:32 AM, coach4aday wrote:

    > coach4aday posted: “North Carolina People, Places, and Things-February 23 > I am the dad to five adult children. As they were growing up I attempted to > remind them they were special and to implore them to learn something new. > My goal was to do that daily. In 2016 my goal is ” >

Leave a Reply

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

MC2Charlotte

Motivating Children To Change

Order My Steps

Musings and reflections along the path

This Day in North Carolina History

The people and places of the Tar Heel state day by day.

Lone Star Back Roads

Exploring Texas (and other parts of the Southern Confederacy)

The Omnivoyeur

Eating, Drinking, and Taking In All Of Life's Pleasures

BitesnBuzz

People, Places, Bites & Buzz from the South and Beyond

John Tanner's Barbecue Blog

One man's search for a rich, full life -- mainly barbecue.

AdventureDawgs

Seeing the world one road at a time

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

FOOD, FASHION AND DESIGN

AMY TURNER SMITH

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

SpanishMossSeries

Faces, places, food, football and other southern goodness that strikes me.

Sunnyhuckle

Positive stories, insights, ideas, inspirations, thoughts, & perspectives

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Art's Arts

I Like Art.

