North Carolina People, Places, and Things-June 21
I am the dad to five adult children. As they were growing up I attempted to remind them they were special and to implore them to learn something new. My goal was to do that daily.
In 2016 my goal is to learn something new daily on the people, places, and things that make North Carolina special. Everyday this year I am doing a post on what I have learned new.
One of the neat things that a parent can experience is one of your children getting married. I had that experience on Saturday. My daughter Rebecca got married to a fine young man who happens to be a North Carolina State Highway Patrolman.
The wedding ceremony involved a lot of people who were part of the NC State Highway Patrol so it was going to follow the law. That meant there needed to be a marriage license.
All of North Carolina’s 100 Register of Deeds offices issue marriage licenses that can be used anywhere in the state. The license can be used immediately upon issuance and is good for 60 days. The original license must be returned to the county where it was issued.
The other legal components of obtaining a marriage certificate in North Carolina that I found interesting included the items below.
Under unusual circumstances someone can get married at the age 0f 15 in North Carolina.
Ages 16-17 require consent of parent having full or joint custody acknowledged before the Register of Deeds to be issued a marriage certificate.
A marriage certificate in North Carolina costs $60.00 and most counties only accept cash.
In order to get a certificate both individuals getting married have to appear in person to apply.
Once you get your marriage certificate you can legally walk down the aisle like my daughter and son-in-law did on Saturday.