@BardCollege @SteelyDan @ChevyChaseToGo January 8


My daily post theme for 2017 is on Colleges and Universities.

The plan for starting my blog back in 2014 was at the urging of fellow coaching colleagues to share posts on leadership and/or motivation. Somehow that idea got derailed and  turned into daily posts on one theme for an entire year.

In 2014 my daily posts were on the “Beer of the Day”, 2015 it was “A Friend of a Friend”, 2016 I wrote about “North Carolina”, and for 2017 I will focus on “Colleges and Universities”.

I actually have a summary list of each of beer I drank in 2014. That “Beer of the Day” list can be found at link below:

https://coach4aday.wordpress.com/2014/12/30/dec-30-2014-completed-beer-of-the-day-list/

I have a summary list on my 2015 “A Friend of a Friend” posts.

https://coach4aday.wordpress.com/2016/01/01/a-friend-of-a-friend-2015-recap/

I have been associated with colleges since I was 18 and I love them. I have coached/worked at four different universities and in my professional and personal travels visited 100’s more. Each college has something in its history that I want to share that to me make it unique or personal.

If you want to follow the blog via email go to the bottom right of the post and click the follow button.

My twitter handle is @coach4aday2 if you want to follow my blog that way.

Name of University:     Bard College

Location:                          Annandale on the Hudson, NY

If you listened to music in the 70’s you know the group Steely Dan. Photo below is from back cover of their album Countdown to Ecstasy.

steely-dan-countdown-to-ecstasy-backlp

They had a number of hits with memorable lyrics some of those songs are listed below.

steely-dan-songs

With the big game coming up tomorrow for FBS Championship between Alabama and Clemson one set of lyrics is very relevant. The song is Deacon Blues.

They got a name for the winners in the world
I want a name when I lose
They call Alabama the Crimson Tide
Call me Deacon Blues

Another set of lyrics is from the song My Old School.

I remember the thirty-five sweet goodbyes

When you put me on the Wolverine Up to Annandale

It was still September When your daddy was quite surprised To find you with the working girls In the county jail I was smoking with the boys upstairs

When I heard about the whole affair I said oh no William and Mary won’t do

Forever I thought the song My Old School was about the college in Williamsburg, VA named William and Mary. I may have found a different twist online.

The two main players in Steely Dan are Walter Becker and Donald Fagen, who met at Bard College at Annandale-on-Hudson, New York.

Grammy Winners -Walter Becker and Donald Fagan.

steely-dan-scott-gries

Bard was founded as St. Stephen’s College in 1860. The President at Bard since 1975 is Leon Botstein who is both a college president and symphony conductor for the American Symphony Orchestra.

One other notable alumnus of Bard is Chevy Chase ’67.

chevy-chase

Steely Dan’s Countdown to Ecstasy Album, released in 1973, had the song My Old School on it, the inspiration for the song came from an incident while they attended Bard College. In May 1969, Fagen, Becker, their girlfriends, and approximately 50 other students were arrested in a pot raid by the sheriff’s deputies. Due to the weakness of the case, the charges were dropped, but not before being harassed.

Apparently, Bard College was involved, somehow, and Fagen was so upset that he refused to attend graduation. In 1995, Fagen received an honorary doctorate from the college, apparently making peace with his old alma mater.

The song, itself, definitely says, “William and Mary” in it, but the main clue that it was actually about Bard are the three references to “Annandale” in the song, which is the location of Bard College.

So whether you call Alabama the Crimson Tide or say Oh No William Mary won’t do remember to think the origins are Bard College.

Leave a Reply

Jesse Kerema

Motivation, goals and a journey to success

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

MC2Charlotte

Motivating Children To Change

Order My Steps

Musings and reflections along the path

This Day in North Carolina History

The people and places of the Tar Heel state day by day.

Lone Star Back Roads

Exploring Texas (and other parts of the Southern Confederacy)

The Omnivoyeur

Eating, Drinking, and Taking In All Of Life's Pleasures

BitesnBuzz

People, Places, Bites & Buzz from the South and Beyond

John Tanner's Barbecue Blog

One man's search for a rich, full life -- mainly barbecue.

AdventureDawgs

Seeing the world one road at a time

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp a perpetual journey." Walt Whitman

FOOD, FASHION AND DESIGN

AMY TURNER SMITH

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

SpanishMossSeries

Faces, places, food, football and other southern goodness that strikes me.

Sunnyhuckle

Positive stories, insights, ideas, inspirations, thoughts, & perspectives

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

