@Schwarzenegger @uw_superior May 29


My daily post theme for 2017 is on Colleges and Universities.

The plan for starting my blog back in 2014 was at the urging of fellow coaching colleagues to share posts on leadership and/or motivation. Somehow that idea got derailed and turned into daily posts on one theme for an entire year.

In 2014 my daily posts were on the “Beer of the Day”, 2015 it was “A Friend of a Friend”, 2016 I wrote about “North Carolina”, and for 2017 I will focus on “Colleges and Universities”.

I have been associated with colleges since I was 18 and I love them. I have coached/worked at four different universities and in my professional and personal travels visited 100’s more. Each college has something in its history that I want to share that to me make it unique or personal.

If you want to follow the blog via email go to the bottom right of the post and click the follow button.

My twitter handle is @coach4aday2 if you want to follow my blog that way.

Name of University: University of Wisconsin-Superior

Location: Superior WI

I work at UNC Pembroke a campus that is part of the University of North Carolina. One of the other university systems that often gets compared to UNC is the University of Wisconsin. The campus that is located the furthest north in that system is UW-Superior. As I read about their campus I observed a lot of differences and similarities.

Aerial view of UW-Superior campus located at bottom of photo-Lake Superior at the top of photo.

Campus Aerials

UW – Superior joined the UW system in 1971 but its origins run much earlier than that. I found out by researching that both UNC Pembroke and UW Superior iconic signature building is called “Old Main”. UW Superior lost Old Main to a fire in 1914 and rebuilt it and UNC Pembroke lost Old Main to a fire in the 1970’s and did the same. Photos shows both campuses “Old Main” buildings today.

Today UW-Superior has about 2500 students enrolled. UW Superior like UNC Pembroke appears to have a very strong commitment to service learning courses. Almost 45% of all of their students are involved in service learning.

I was surprised to learn that Arnold Schwarzenegger earned a BA via correspondence courses from UW -Superior in 1979.

o-ARNOLD-SCHWARZENEGGER-facebook.jpg

Leave a Reply

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

MC2Charlotte

Motivating Children To Change

Order My Steps

Musings and reflections along the path

This Day in North Carolina History

The people and places of the Tar Heel state day by day.

The Omnivoyeur

Eating, Drinking, and Taking In All Of Life's Pleasures

BitesnBuzz

People, Places, Bites & Buzz from the South and Beyond

John Tanner's Barbecue Blog

One man's search for a rich, full life -- mainly barbecue.

AdventureDawgs

Seeing the world one road at a time

JoHanna Massey

"I tramp the perpetual journey."- Walt Whitman

FOOD, FASHION AND DESIGN

AMY TURNER SMITH

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

SpanishMossSeries

Faces, places, food, football and other southern goodness that strikes me.

Sunnyhuckle

Positive stories, insights, ideas, inspirations, thoughts, & perspectives

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Art's Arts

I Like Art.

