A friend of a friend-Bruce Bullock-Christine James-June 23


One thing I have learned is that good friends have other good friends. This is a series of stories about “friends of my friends”. The post below is the story for June 23, 2015.

My goal in 2015 is to learn or get re-acquainted with 365 people and doing a daily post on the “the friend of a friend” is helping me get closer to my goal.

Friendship comes with many periods of longevity. Some friends if you are lucky you have for your entire life. For the majority of my friends that span of time isn’t my whole life. I have blessed to meet people in a lot of different stages of my life. One of those friends I have met in the last two years is Christine James.

Today I am finishing up spending two wonderful days in a waterfront cottage on the Pamlico River just outside of Chocowinty, NC courtesy of Chris. Photo below show the cottage right on the Chocowinty Bay.

image

My wife and I have been participating in Parent’s Orientation at East Carolina University with our son Mack who will enroll there in the fall. Having Chris offer us the use of the cottage was a real treat. Chocowinty is only 25 minutes from campus.

If anyone fits the description of “A friend of a friend” it is Chris. She moved to Lumberton, NC several years ago for her job as Human Resources Director for Unilever in Raeford, NC. My wife and I got to meet her thru other friends that either lived in her neighborhood or were part of our social circle. It wasn’t long before we were attending the same pool parties, running into each other at dinner, be part of our Kentucky Derby party, or she was one of the hundreds of people standing in my front yard to watch Lumberton’s Christmas parade.

Chris even got into the spirit of pool to attempt to correctly guess how many beauty pageant winners would be in the 2014 parade.

image

Over the last year Chris has become a close friend and joined my wife and I in some neat events including our Valentine’s Dinner with 11 other couples back in February 2015. Chris and her special man Bruce Bullock included us at their Christmas Party last December. We love being around Bruce and Chris because they both have a sharing heart.

Photo below of 2015 Valentine’s Day Dinner at our home.

Chris and Bruce depicted far right on front row. Don Metzger photo bombing us in front of table does not count as front row.

image

It doesn’t matter if you are lifelong friends or new friends it is still the same constants. Do your friends care, do your friends make life fun, and do your friends bring out the good in you. The answer to all three for me with Chris James and Bruce Bullock is yes.

The Friend-CHRIS JAMES

image

The Friend of a Friend-BRUCE BULLOCK

image

A couple that cares

Bruce Bullock is just a man that likes to treat people right. when you are around his three children you can see that quality come thru. He is a successful businessman that knows success comes from treating people the right way. He is also a UNC Pembroke graduate and that quality alone makes him special to me.

Bruce grew up in Pembroke so he and I know a lot of the same people. When i talk with those mutual friends and acquaintances the same theme comes thru. Bruce Bullock cares about his family, friends, and customers.

Chris and Bruce are a couple that cares and my wife and I are glad to call them friends.

Leave a Reply

Jesse Kerema

Motivation, goals and a journey to success

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

MC2Charlotte

Motivating Children To Change

Order My Steps

Musings and reflections along the path

This Day in North Carolina History

The people and places of the Tar Heel state day by day.

The Omnivoyeur

Eating, Drinking, and Taking In All Of Life's Pleasures

BitesnBuzz

People, Places, Bites & Buzz from the South and Beyond

John Tanner's Barbecue Blog

One man's search for a rich, full life -- mainly barbecue.

AdventureDawgs

Seeing the world one road at a time

JoHanna Massey

“Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” ― Carl Sagan

FOOD, FASHION AND DESIGN

AMY TURNER SMITH

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

SpanishMossSeries

Faces, places, food, football and other southern goodness that strikes me.

Sunnyhuckle

Positive stories, insights, ideas, inspirations, thoughts, & perspectives

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Art's Arts

I Like Art.

